Skip to content ↓
Turvey Primary School

Turvey Primary School

aim high and smile!


Message from the Chair of Governors

It is with great pleasure that I welcome you to Turvey Primary School. Our school is a welcoming, happy and positive learning community where everyone is both encouraged and enabled to reach their full potential.

Our governing body is an enthusiastic group of volunteers who are committed to maintaining and improving Turvey’s high standard of education by:

  • Working with the Headteacher to set the school's strategic direction, aims, vision and ethos, while ensuring it meets its statutory responsibilities.

  • Monitoring and evaluating performance and acting as a ‘critical’ friend to the Headteacher, to support and challenge her in managing the school.

  • Monitoring and challenging the progress of the school in achieving its priorities.

  • Ensuring financial probity and that the premises are well managed.

  • Ensuring that the school is accountable to the children and parents it serves, to its local community, to those who fund and maintain it, as well as to the staff it employs.

The staff and governors, work in partnership to ensure we are constantly improving the education and experience that the school provides, so that you can be assured that your child’s start to their educational life is in safe, positive and inspiring hands.

Andrew Pickford
Chair of Governors

The Governing Body



Type of



Sharon Coles


School Improvement/Resources Committee

Tim Bartlett


School Improvement Committee

Mike Pitt


School Improvement Committee, Lead governor quality of teaching, learning & assessment, safeguarding governor


Paul Mais



School Improvement

John Chapman


Resources Committee

Lorraine Gibson


 School Improvement/Resources Committee

Kath Mortlock


Lead Gov for Early Years/School Improvement Committee

Mark Smith


Lead Gov for Health & Safety/Resources Committee




Mark Westwood


Chair of Resources

Andrew Pickford


 Chair, Resources Committee



The full governing body meets once per term. 

The two committees (Resources and School Improvement) meet once per term.

Clerk to the Governing Body - Cathy Venables

  1. School Governance - Eligibility
  2. Information Sheet 12 Code of Conduct for School Governors 2017
  3. GB Declaration of Interests Document 2018-19